National Community Advisory Board

WIHS National Community Advisory Board

The WIHS National Community Advisory Board (NCAB) is an advisory committee comprised of study participants from each of the clinical sites, as well as a facilitator, Principal Investigator (PI) and Project Director (PD) representatives, and NIH sponsoring agency representatives. NCAB representatives are active in all levels of the study, including participation on working group conference calls and at the biannual scientific Executive Committee (EC) meetings. In addition, the NCAB holds conference calls every other month and meets annually.

The purpose and mission of the NCAB is to provide the WIHS community with relevant scientific, psychosocial and political information regarding HIV-related topics. The EC asks the NCAB for feedback on the validity and practicality of proposed study protocols and forms. New study concepts, manuscripts, and protocol changes are reviewed by the NCAB prior to implementation in the study. The NCAB develops strategies intended to encourage active participation in study visits and solicits feedback from participants about their research visits and healthcare priorities. NCAB members are true representatives of the WIHS community and provide insight on how best to obtain valid information from participants, thus improving WIHS data quality.

NCAB Members:
Chair: Jeanette Carter, Bronx
Co-Chair: Alicia Diggs, UNC

Lynn Murchison, NCAB Liaison, Bronx
Erna Abu-Smail, Atlanta
Jennifer Cohen, San Francisco
Lakshmi Goparaju, District of Columbia
Adrienne Gould, San Francisco
Queen Hatfield, UAB-MS
Susan Holman, Brooklyn
Tekeshia Jones, UNC
MichelleAnn Joseph, Brooklyn
Yevette Lindsey, District of Columbia
Venetra McKinney, UAB-MS
Lynnell Minkin, San Francisco
Michael Plankey, District of Columbia
Jennifer Quinonez, San Francisco
Catalina Ramirez, UNC
Nicaya Rapier, Chicago
Denise Russo, NICHD
Marta Santiago, Chicago
Nilsa Santiago, Bronx
Gerald Sharp, NIAID
Denise Smith, District of Columbia
Sudha Srinivasan, NIAID
Lauryn Taylor, Atlanta
Martha Williams, UAB-MS